When We Fall..

Hello Everyone!

I know its been a while since my last post, its late midterm season on top on comp season so it has been a bit stressful. And that is why I am writing today.

Between extremely physically challenging practices and an increasingly heavy workload I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed. It has begun to be a bit difficult trying to balance this crazy type of lifestyle while maintaining sane. During times like these, I know, speaking from experience, it can feel like the only solution is to quit.

People quit things for many reasons: injuries, family issues,  finances, scheduling, and because things get too hard. For some, being stressed and overwhelmed is a feeling that is not dealt with very well. I have always been the kind of person that thrives during stressful times (which is probably why I decided nursing would be a good career path), but for others, its the beginning of the end of the world. Everyone is different, and no two people will deal with situations the same way.

This morning I had the most challenging practice of my entire life. My coaches pushed our team to the absolute limit and it was physically and mentally demanding. Not only was I exhausted but the only thing I can truly rely on being confident, my jumps, wasn’t even hitting. I have never felt so discouraged and o the brink of crying before. Of course I understand in hindsight how beneficial these intense practices are, but there are moments during them that I am ready to tell my coaches I hate them and walk out. P.S I love my coaches more than ANYTHING. I am so grateful for everything they do for me and the team (Shoutout to Meag and Mik). But no matter how many times I struggle or fall, I always pick myself back up and carry one.

However, I have begun to notice that there are people that don’t get back. They sit on the floor, stressed and crying wondering ‘why am I doing this to myself?’ Not going to lie I ask myself that question quite often. Why don’t I just quit cheer and focus solely on school? But I always go back to why I don’t. I love the sport and I couldn’t imagine leaving it.

We get pushed. No matter where we are in life, we will be pushed to the limit. We will fall down. We will get back up and get pushed right back down again. It does not matter how many times we crumble to ground, what matters is how many time we build ourselves back up. Work hard while the competition is resting. We are all capable of reaching every dream and goal we have, it just depends on how hard you want it.

I wanted to share with you a video. It is just over six minutes long. My coaches decided to share it with us just before our first competition. This video spoke to me on so many levels, which is why I felt it should be shared with you guys as a reminder to why we do what we do as student athletes.

(Retrieved from YouTube. Credits to Mateusz M for this inspirational video. Check out his channel for some more motivating videos)

We will get pushed. No matter where we are in life, we will be pushed. We will fall down. We will get back up and get pushed right back down again. It does not matter how many times we crumble to ground, what matters is how many time we build ourselves back up. Work hard while the competition is resting. We are all capable of reaching every dream and goal we have, it just depends on how hard you want it.

I know this post is a bit long but I hope that it speaks to everyone and anyone who is down.

Lastly, I wanted to do a big shout out to my coaches. I know on behalf of myself and my team that we are so grateful for everything those two do for us. They expect the best form up and train us like none other so that we can feel confident when we hit the mat.

Much Love,

Haille May

Leave a Reply

